Brompton-on-Swale Church of England Primary School

01748 811683

Brompton-on-Swale Church of England Primary School

View navigation

Brompton-on-Swale Church of England Primary School uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. For optimal performance please accept cookies. For more information please visit our cookies policy.

Accept and close

Curriculum & Learning

Revised Bloom's Taxonomy & Subject Progression

Background InformationBloom

In 1956, the American academic Benjamin Bloom along with a number of other colleagues published a framework for categorising educational goals.  It was titled, “Taxonomy of Educational Objectives” but is more familiarly known as Bloom’s Taxonomy. This framework has been applied by generations of teachers and in their teaching.

Blooms Taxonomy Revised

The Revised Taxonomy 2001

 group of cognitive psychologists, curriculum theorists and instructional researchers, and testing and assessment specialists published in 2001 a revision of Bloom’s Taxonomy with the title “A Taxonomy for Teaching, Learning, and Assessment”. The taxonomy refers to levels of cognitive process which can be seen in the diagram. Applying, analysing, evaluating and creating can be referred to as ‘higher order thinking skills’ which require a greater level of thought and engagement in the learning process.

In the revised taxonomy, knowledge is at the basis of these six cognitive processes but its authors created a separate taxonomy of the types of knowledge used in cognition:

Knowledge type


Factual Knowledge


Knowledge of terminology

Knowledge of specific details and elements

Conceptual Knowledge


Knowledge of classifications and categories

Knowledge of principles and generalizations

Knowledge of theories, models, and structures

Procedural Knowledge


Knowledge of subject-specific skills and algorithms

Knowledge of subject-specific techniques and methods

Knowledge of criteria for determining when to use appropriate procedures

Metacognitive Knowledge


Strategic Knowledge

Knowledge about cognitive tasks, including appropriate contextual and conditional knowledge


Our Curriculum

In our curriculum, we feel that metacognitive knowledge is all-encompassing.  We refer to metacognitive knowledge throughout the learning process in order to make our pupils excellent learners.  Therefore, this doesn’t need to be planned for in the same way that factual, conceptual and procedural knowledge requires.

We have utilised these headings to provide a framework for teaching knowledge and skills progressions across year groups and in all subjects.

These documents are shared to the right.

Synergy Trust Schools

About Synergy Schools

Synergy Schools is a federation of primary schools in the north of North Yorkshire. The federation was formed in September 2018 after the 2017-18 academic year, when Brompton-on-Swale and Crakehall CE Primary Schools successfully shared senior leadership capacity.