Brompton-on-Swale Church of England Primary School

01748 811683

Brompton-on-Swale Church of England Primary School

View navigation

Brompton-on-Swale Church of England Primary School uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. For optimal performance please accept cookies. For more information please visit our cookies policy.

Accept and close

Our School

The Governing Body

BOS_21 (13)Our Governing Body

In the summer of 2021 the Governing Body of Leeming & Londonderry and Pickhill CE Primary Schools federated with the Synergy Schools Federation. The Governing Bodies from each federation were disbanded and a new Synergy Schools Governing Body was elected with Local School Committees appointed.

The Remit of the Governing Body

The main purpose of the Synergy Schools Governing Body is to:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of our schools and federation.
  • Hold executive leaders to account for educational performance of the schools within the federation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff.
  • Oversee the financial performance of the federation and make sure its money is well spent.

The Structure of our Governing Body

The governing body has considerable discretion as to how to discharge its responsibilities but is required to constitute itself in line with the regulations and to appoint a chair and vice chair. The governing body may delegate certain parts of its responsibilities to certain governors or committees of governors.

Our governing body meets approximately 9 times each year as a full governing body. Our current chair is Mrs Andrea Offord. The governing body has four elected vice chairs of governors who have the following remit:

  • Mrs Jane Parker Hack (responsible for Governor Monitoring)
  • Dr Victoria Eardley (Chair of Local School Committee for Brompton-on-Swale Church of England Primary School)
  • Mrs Jessica Brudenell (Chair of Local School Committee for Crakehall Church of England Primary School)
  • Mrs Anna Smith (Chair of Local School Committee for Leeming and Londonderry Community and Pickhill Church of England Primary Schools)

Local School Committees meet every term (3 times a year).   These non-statutory committees undertake the governor monitoring role, hold each school in the Federation to account and provide a direct link to the Full Governing Body.  Members of the LSC do not have voting rights on the Full Governing Body unless they are elected to the Full Governing Body.

Synergy Schools Full Governing Body Terms of Reference

Synergy Schools - Instrument of Government

Details of our Full Governing Body can be found here

For further information regarding our Full Governing Body please contact the clerk to the Governors -

Synergy Trust Schools

About Synergy Schools

Synergy Schools is a federation of primary schools in the north of North Yorkshire. The federation was formed in September 2018 after the 2017-18 academic year, when Brompton-on-Swale and Crakehall CE Primary Schools successfully shared senior leadership capacity.