Brompton-on-Swale Church of England Primary School

01748 811683

Brompton-on-Swale Church of England Primary School

View navigation

Brompton-on-Swale Church of England Primary School uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. For optimal performance please accept cookies. For more information please visit our cookies policy.

Accept and close

Our Curriculum

Revised Bloom's Taxonomy & Our Curriculum

Background InformationBloom

In 1956, the American academic Benjamin Bloom along with a number of other colleagues published a framework for categorising educational goals.  It was titled, “Taxonomy of Educational Objectives” but is more familiarly known as Bloom’s Taxonomy. This framework has been applied by generations of teachers and in their teaching.

Blooms Taxonomy Revised

The Revised Taxonomy 2001

In 2001, a group of cognitive psychologists, curriculum theorists and instructional researchers, and testing and assessment specialists published a revision of Bloom’s Taxonomy with the title “A Taxonomy for Teaching, Learning, and Assessment”. The taxonomy refers to levels of cognitive process which can be seen in the diagram. Applying, analysing, evaluating and creating can be referred to as ‘higher order thinking skills’ which require a greater level of thought and engagement in the learning process.

In the revised taxonomy, knowledge is at the basis of these six cognitive processes but its authors created a separate taxonomy of the types of knowledge used in cognition:

Knowledge type


Factual Knowledge


Knowledge of terminology

Knowledge of specific details and elements

Conceptual Knowledge


Knowledge of classifications and categories

Knowledge of principles and generalizations

Knowledge of theories, models, and structures

Procedural Knowledge


Knowledge of subject-specific skills and algorithms

Knowledge of subject-specific techniques and methods

Knowledge of criteria for determining when to use appropriate procedures

Metacognitive Knowledge


Strategic Knowledge

Knowledge about cognitive tasks, including appropriate contextual and conditional knowledge


Our Curriculum

We utilise the Revised Bloom's Taxonomy within our curriculum in a number of ways.  Firstly, the taxonomy provides our teaching staff with a framework that supports their questioning skills and techniques across the whole curriculum.  Lessons are often supported by higher level questioning which makes our children think and as a result, become more inquisitive learners.

We also utilise Bloom's separate taxonomy of knowledge types to provide us with a framework to support subject progression across the whole school.  Each subject has carefully considered how it can use this taxonomy.  Not each subject uses the same approach but we feel that this mirrors the different pedagogical demands of different subject disciplines.  For example, there is much more procedural knowledge to learn in a practical subject like Physical Education.  Whereas, in History or Geography, a greater level of factual and conceptual knowledge is required.

In our curriculum, we feel that metacognitive knowledge is all-encompassing.  We refer to metacognitive knowledge throughout the learning process in order to make our pupils excellent learners.  Therefore, we believe that this doesn’t need to be planned for in the same way that factual, conceptual and procedural knowledge requires.

We have utilised these headings to provide a framework for teaching knowledge and skills progressions across year groups and in all subjects.  These documents can be viewed by browsing each individual subject page.

Synergy Trust Schools

About Synergy Schools

Synergy Schools is a federation of primary schools in the north of North Yorkshire. The federation was formed in September 2018 after the 2017-18 academic year, when Brompton-on-Swale and Crakehall CE Primary Schools successfully shared senior leadership capacity.